Hurricane Gustav

Less than a week after lashing down the sails and getting ready for TS Fay, I had to go back to Mandeville today to prepare for Hurricane Gustav.

Bleh.

Armed with a quite a bit of advice from the previous owner and six new dock lines from West Marine, I doubled up on all but one of my bow and stern lines, increased the scope, and added spring lines to the starboard side.

The main sail came off easily and was stored below; the genoa was another story, however.  A previous owner cut the halyard short, so it was impossible to take the sail off without losing the halyard in the furler’s track.  I didn’t want to deal with that when I got back, so I just wrapped the genoa as best as possible with the jib sheets and some extra line.

~ by phallock on August 29, 2008.

Leave a comment